Whether you’ve lived in Kentucky your whole life or you’re just moving in, you may be the victim of an auto accident. If this happens, it’s important to understand that Kentucky’s laws are unique to any other states because car accident laws are established at the state level. Recognizing how these laws work can help you with your claim when seeking compensation.
What do I do after the auto accident happens?
If you are involved in a collision in Kentucky, it’s important to remember there are certain steps you are legally required to follow, in accordance with state law.
- Stop your vehicle and move it out of the way of traffic, it possible.
- Assess the situation and call emergency services.
- Exchange contact information with the other parties involved in the accident. You’ll want to share and collect names, addresses, driver’s licenses numbers, license plate numbers, and auto insurance information.
- Report the accident to the Kentucky State Police and your insurance company.
How do I report a car accident in Kentucky?
While reporting the accident to the Kentucky State Police is not always necessary, there are certain instances when it is legally required. If the accident results in property damage exceeding $500, injury, or death, you must file a Civilian Collision Report form.
On the form, you’ll need to provide identifying and contact information for all the parties involved, comprehensive vehicle information, estimated repair costs, car insurance information, any non-vehicle property damage, where the accident happened, and the road and weather conditions at the time of the collision.
You have ten days to file with law enforcement after the accident. If you neglect to do so, you may receive a $20 to $100 fine.
You’ll want to report the accident to your insurance company as soon as possible, so you can receive your settlement in a timely fashion.
What are Kentucky’s car insurance laws?
To legally drive in Kentucky, you must have these minimum insurance coverages:
- $25,000 for the bodily injury or death of one person
- $50,000 for the bodily injury or death of two people
- $10,000 for property damaged
In addition to bodily injury liability insurance and property damage liability insurance, Kentucky auto insurance companies also offer uninsured motorist bodily injury insurance and personal injury protection.
Kentucky follows a no-fault system for car insurance and accident settlements. This means that your insurance company will pay for your injury claims, but only up to a specified limit. You cannot sue the other driver unless your medical expenses exceed $1,000, you broke a bone, or suffered permanent disfigurement, injury, or death. While you can opt out of the no-fault system, you would then be at risk for being sued.
How do auto accident settlements work in Kentucky?
Car accident claims rarely go to trial in Kentucky. After an auto wreck, the insurance company will open an investigation on your claim. They will calculate your damages and issue you a settlement. Avoid accepting the first settlement offer. You’ll want to compare what they’re saying your damages are worth to what you think they’re worth. Negotiations are possible; however, this can be difficult without an attorney.
How do I seek legal guidance for my car accident claim?
When handling an auto accident claim against a negligent party, it’s a good idea to have reliable legal representation. You may be eligible to collect damages on medical expenses, vehicle repairs, lost wages, or pain and suffering. Our Paducah, KY car accident lawyer at Daryl T. Dixon Law can help you negotiate a fair settlement so you can worry less about financial hardship, and instead focus on recovery.